ew coach.Kelly said he would never look into another jo

in Clan- und Funwars 20.09.2019 08:38
von mary123 | 2.355 Beiträge

A day after the death of golf legend Arnold Palmer, his friends and some of the sports greatest players had plenty of warm memories to share of the man nicknamed The King.Tiger Wds fondly recalled the time Palmer briefly made him ineligible to compete collegiately while at Stanford.I went to dinner with Arnold, and Arnold ends up picking up the tab; obviously, you know, Im a college student, Wds told the Golf Channel. So Arnold picks up the tab; well, I get declared ineligible. So, Im at the All-American in El Paso. And so I fly there as a person ineligible -- I wasnt allowed to play a practice round. And so I had to write a $25 check to Arnold, he had to cash it, he then had to fax the copy that it was cashed to the [NCAA] for me to lift up my so-called violation. And so, it was a running joke for over 20 years -- every time Id see him, Id say, You still owe me 25 bucks.Wds said the nonstop needling between the two was one of his favorite parts of his friendship with Palmer.Jack Nicklaus said he enjoyed a decadeslong friendship with Palmer that flourished despite the fact that we loved beating each other.That competitive camaraderie began back in 1958.The first time I met Arnold was 1958 ... and we started off on the first tee and we had a driving contest, and I won the driving contest, Nicklaus said Monday on SportsCenter. We finished the round, and Arnold shot 63 -- I think I shot 67 or something. I never thought much about it at that time, but every time after that, we talked about the first time we met, and I said, Yeah, I out-drove you there, and he said, Yeah, but I shot 63 and you shot 67 -- I got ya. That was when I was 18 years old.Both Wds and Nicklaus also recalled fondly how kind and generous Palmer was to them.Hes been one of those people that I could always turn to, Wds said. Theres not a lot of people you can pick up the phone